New Jersey Society of CPAs Announces 2023-24 Board of Trustees

The New Jersey Society of Certified Public Accountants (NJCPA) has appointed the following professionals to its board of trustees for 2023-24:

  • President: Edward O’Connell, Withum
  • President-Elect: June Toth, WilkinGuttenplan
  • Secretary: John Szczomak, Smolin Lupin & Co.
  • Treasurer: Ralph Evangelista, Frazer Evangelista & Company
  • Immediate Past President: Kathleen Powers, Chelsea Senior Living
  • CEO and Executive Director: Aiysha (AJ) Johnson, NJCPA (effective June 12)


O’Connell has been active at the NJCPA since joining in 1997 and has served as secretary and trustee.

“[Ed’s] many years of auditing and financial reporting knowledge will help guide our members and aspiring CPAs in the right direction,” says Ralph Albert Thomas, who will retire as NJCPA CEO and executive director on June 30.

In addition, the following individuals have been appointed as NJCPA trustees for the 2023-24 term:

  • Brent Ashton, Ernst & Young
  • Kathleen Bernard, Lota & Bernard
  • Nicole DeRosa, Wiss & Company
  • Altheia Leduc, Gold Gerstein Group
  • Christopher Lovasz, Deloitte
  • Brian Nafash, Massood & Company
  • Chris Schiffer, Wealth Enhancement Group
  • Sean Stein Smith, Lehman College
  • Catherine Syslo, CohnReznick
  • Michael Theuerkauf, Michael Theuerkauf CPA
  • Paula Young, EisnerAmper
  • Katherine Zech, PKF O’Connor Davies


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Thanks for submitting your comment!


    Recent Posts


    Sign up for the IPA INSIDER: a bi-weekly news round up sent directly to your inbox.

    Related Stories