NASBA Announces Award Winners

The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) has announced recipients of three prestigious awards. Awardees were honored at the 106th Annual NASA Business Meeting Oct. 29.

Diane M. Rubin was presented with the 2013 William H. Van Rensselaer Public Service Award, which recognizes individuals who have led the development or improvement of Boards of Accountancy programs, or influenced the passage of rules or statutes to improve accountancy regulations and laws, with the goal of protecting the public. Rubin, a retired partner with San Francisco-based Novogradac & Company (FY12 net revenue of $84 million), is a former president of the California State Board of Accountancy and former chair of NASBA.

Andrew L. DuBoff is the recipient of the NASBA Distinguished Service Award. Since 1999, recipients of this award have demonstrated unswerving commitment and dedication to enhancing the mission of NASBA.  As a retired partner with New York-based PricewaterhouseCoopers (FY12 net revenue of $10.2 billion), DuBoff has contributed over 35 years to the accounting profession, including extensive work on the New Jersey State Board of Accountancy. Over the years, DuBoff has been regarded as a “guiding light” through the tangle of the Uniform Accountancy Act negotiations.

Richard Sweeney is the recipient of the Lorraine P. Sachs Standard of Excellence Award, which salutes Board of Accountancy executive staff leaders who demonstrate excellence in regulation and make a positive impact on the profession. Sweeney is executive director of the Washington State Board of Accountancy. Prior to this appointment in 2005, he served as special assistant to the elected Washington State Auditor. During his tenure as executive director, Sweeney has been successful in building the Washington Board into a model agency, NASBA said.